Skip to main content

Packers S Darnell Savage, G Elgton Jenkins named to PFWA All-Rookie team

It’s the second consecutive year at least one Green Bay player so honored

G Elgton Jenkins, S Darnell Savage
G Elgton Jenkins, S Darnell Savage

GREEN BAY – Packers safety Darnell Savage and guard Elgton Jenkins have been named to the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) All-Rookie team for 2019.

The Packers traded up to take Savage with the 21st pick in the first round of the NFL Draft back in April. The 5-foot-11, 198-pound safety tallied 55 tackles, five passes defensed, two interceptions and two forced fumbles in 14 regular-season starts.

Jenkins, a second-round pick out of Mississippi State, stepped into the starting lineup in Week 3 after left guard Lane Taylor sustained a season-ending biceps injury in practice. The 6-foot-5, 311-pound guard started the last 14 games of the regular season for Green Bay, playing 964 offensive snaps.

It's the second consecutive year the Packers have had at least one player selected to the PFWA All-Rookie team, with General Manager Brian Gutekunst's first draft choice – cornerback Jaire Alexander – being honored on last year's team.

Savage and Jenkins are the first Green Bay safety and offensive lineman to be named All-Rookie since 2014, when Ha Ha Clinton-Dix and Corey Linsley were selected.

The PFWA has chosen an All-Rookie team every season since 1974.

2019 ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers
2019 OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders
2019 DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers

QB – Kyler Murray, Arizona Cardinals
RB – Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders; Miles Sanders, Philadelphia Eagles
WR – A.J. Brown, Tennessee Titans; Terry McLaurin, Washington Redskins
TE – Noah Fant, Denver Broncos
C – Erik McCoy, New Orleans Saints
G – Elgton Jenkins, Green Bay Packers; Dalton Risner, Denver Broncos
T – Tytus Howard, Houston Texans; Jawaan Taylor, Jacksonville Jaguars

DL – Josh Allen, Jacksonville Jaguars; Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers; Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Ed Oliver, Buffalo Bills
LB – Devin Bush, Pittsburgh Steelers; Dre Greenlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Devin White, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
CB – Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, New Orleans Saints; Sean Murphy-Bunting, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
S – Darnell Savage, Green Bay Packers; Juan Thornhill, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams
PK – Austin Seibert, Cleveland Browns
P – Jamie Gillan, Cleveland Browns
KR – Mecole Hardman, Kansas City Chiefs
PR – Deonte Harris, New Orleans Saints
ST – Drue Tranquill, Los Angeles Chargers

Related Content