Skip to main content

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers, T David Bakhtiari selected to Pro Bowl

Eighth honor for Rodgers, first via initial selection process for Bakhtiari


GREEN BAY – Two Packers have been selected to this year's Pro Bowl – quarterback Aaron Rodgers and left tackle David Bakhtiari.

The recognition is old hat for Rodgers, who has now been chosen eight times, after selections in 2009, '11, '12, '14, '15, '16, and '18.

But it's new for Bahktiari, whose only Pro Bowl honor to date was going as a first alternate in 2016. This is the first time the standout left tackle has made the Pro Bowl through the initial selection process, despite the fact that he's been named to the Associated Press All-Pro team the last three years.

Bakhtiari was a first-team All-Pro selection last year after receiving second-team recognition in both 2016 and '17. Bakhtiari also was named a Pro Bowl alternate in 2014, '17 and '18.

Rodgers is now just one Pro Bowl selection behind Hall of Famers Brett Favre and Forrest Gregg for the most by a Green Bay player. Favre and Gregg were both chosen nine times.

The Pro Bowl will be played on Jan. 26, 2020 – the Sunday between the conference championship games and Super Bowl – at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla. The game has gone back to the traditional NFC vs. AFC format after experimentations in recent years. Players on the Super Bowl teams do not participate and alternates are chosen in their place. Alternates also can be selected to replace injured players.

Kicker Mason Crosby and outside linebacker Za'Darius Smith were both named first alternates.

Other alternates include receiver Davante Adams, cornerback Jaire Alexander, safety Adrian Amos, defensive lineman Kenny Clark, running back Aaron Jones, center Corey Linsley, outside linebacker Preston Smith and fullback Danny Vitale.

Players are chosen for the NFC and AFC teams by a combination of voting processes conducted by fans, players and front office personnel.

Bakhtiari was the leader in the fan voting among all offensive tackles in the NFC. Preston Smith was also the leading vote-getter in the NFC at his position.

Check out photos of Pro Bowlers QB Aaron Rodgers and T David Bakhtiari from the 2019 season so far.

Related Content